UK’s best new homes – RIBA announces House of the Year 2021 longlist

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the longlist for the RIBA House of the Year 2021.

Among the 20 projects in the running to win the UK’s most prestigious award for a new house or extension are:

A highly-sustainable home built on land that once belonged to the gardens of a large country house in Devon (Devon Passivhaus)

A skilfully restored stone cottage in the wilds of the Scottish Highlands (Kyle House)

An elegantly simple home, perched on stilts over the River Thames floodplain in Berkshire (River House)

The imaginative remodelling and extension of a semi-detached Victorian house in East London (Grain House)

The 20 longlisted homes are:

Corner House (London) by 31/44 Architects
Devon Passivhaus (Devon) by McLean Quinlan
Grain House (London) by Hayhurst & Co Architects
Harbour House (Hampshire) by John Pardey Architects
House for Theo and Oskar (Surrey) by Tigg + Coll Architects
House in Assynt (Sutherland, Scotland) by Mary Arnold-Forster Architects
House on the Hill (Gloucestershire) by Alison Brooks Architects
House-within-a-House (London) by alma-nac
Hove House (Brighton) by Turner Works
Kyle House (Sutherland, Scotland) by Groves-Raines Architects
The Modern Oast (Kent) by ACME
The Old School (Yorkshire) by ArkleBoyce Architects
The Outfarm (Devon) by TYPE Studio
Pele Tower House (Cumbria) by Woollacott Gilmartin Architects
River House (Berkshire) by John Pardey Architects
Simple House (Cambridge) by Haysom Ward Miller Architects
The Slot House (London) by Sandy Rendel Architects with Sally Rendel
The Water Tower (Norfolk) by Tonkin Liu
Weybridge House (Surrey) by Wilkinson King Architects
Wolds Barn (Yorkshire) by ID Architecture

The shortlist and winner of the RIBA House of the Year 2021 will be revealed in the sixth series of Channel 4’s Grand Designs: House of the Year, produced by Naked West (a Fremantle label), airing later this year.

The jury for the 2021 House of the Year is: Amin Taha (Chair), Chairman of GROUPWORK; Co-founder of Ash Sakula Architects, Cany Ash; Co-founder of McGonigle McGrath, Kieran McGonigle (RIBA House of the Year 2019 winner).


The Latest

To Top